deconstructing this entertainment for a second


As a black child, I grew up thinking this was illegal myself. It’s a habit I took with me into adulthood, and I myself am quick about using the light when I’m in the car. This is a common theme amongst black people, a lot of us grew up believing it was against the law to have the lights on. Sure, people of other cultures could probably understand what it really was: drawing attention to the car. But what it also does is allow visibility of them. And often times for black people, and people of color, visibility is dangerous. Visibility allows them to be profiled by police or authority. With the increased attention to the car due to having a light on plus visible black bodies, it’s no wonder black parents have always said to their children that it’s illegal. Because although theres no law against it, it very well could lead them to being pulled over.

Leave a Reply

